ICICTE 2016  ·  Home  ·  About the Conference  ·  Registration  ·  Venue  ·  Contact us  ·  Sponsors








Johan Hough

Member of the Publications and Promotions Committee, presenter, workshop facilitator and sponsor of the conference.

Johan Hough is a Professor and Consultant of Strategy, International Business and management with twenty years practical experience in research and management-related environments. He prefers a participative and interactive role in consulting and facilitating local and foreign business alliances with the emphasis on creating a competitive advantage for clients. His career objective is to further his teaching and consulting career in strategic management and corporate entrepreneurship in a growing globalised environment.

At the moment, he is busy with the following consulting/research projects: Corporate entrepreneurship as a competitive advantage in large SA companies; the formation, development and maintenance of strategic alliances by South African companies to become more competitive in international business; strategic flexibility in the financial services industry.

Since 2003 he has been a Professor at the University of Stellenbosch, and has also been associated with the University of South Africa, the First National Bank (Johannesburg), and the Department of Agriculture (Pretoria).

Johan was the author of the first book on International Business in South Africa. He was the recipient of the Ernst Oppenheimer Memorial Trust’s Overseas Research Grant for 1999/2000. He was part of the selection team for the South African Global Company Awards, sponsored by Business Report, Barlows and PriceWaterhouseCoopers, 2000. Johan was the recipient of the Merit Research Award from the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences at Unisa, 1997. He was project leader of a 1997 competitiveness research project commissioned by the World Economic Forum in Switzerland in a venture with Deloitte & Touche. He was the presenter of the first Unisa course on the Internet, 1997 and the recipient of the Researcher of the Year Award,1996 and the Merit Award for Outstanding Research,1995 (Department of Business Management, Unisa).

He has sixty-five contributions in terms of articles, handbooks, conference proceedings, research reports and other relevant contributions.


Marcie Boucouvalas • Stephen Brown • Henk Eijkman • Johan Hough • J. Ola Lindberg • Ġorġ Mallia • Peter Mayall • Katherine McGuire • Anders D. Olofsson • Barry O'Grady • Pericles 'Asher' Rospigliosi • Jiorgos Sarrigeorgiou • Simon Shurville • Mary Snow • Richard Snow • Evangeline "Litsa" Varonis •  Anthony Whitefield






© ICICTE 2014